Who is the captain of India cricket team


Introduction: The Captainship in Indian Cricket

The position of the captain in a cricket team is held in high esteem throughout the world, especially in India. It’s not just about being an excellent player; the captain also needs to show impeccable leadership qualities on and off the field. The position comes with added responsibilities such as earning teammates’ trust, taking quick decisions in pressure situations, analyzing opponents, and setting effective strategies. The achievements and failures of the team are often attributed to its captain.

A Brief History of Indian Cricket Team Captains

Sincere independence, India has had numerous captains who’ve displayed exceptional sportsmanship and leadership abilities that have led the national team to significant victories. From Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi’s shift towards youth during his tenure from the mid-1960s to 1970s to Kapil Dev’s charismatic captaincy that led India to its first World Cup victory in 1983, every captain brought their unique approaches into play.

In recent years, two names stand out – Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni) and Virat Kohli – considering their substantial impact on Indian cricket.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2007-2016)

Beyond being one of the finest finishers cricket ever witnessed, MS Dhoni will always be remembered for captaining India to some iconic victories across all formats. Under his leadership, India won several prestigious tournaments including the inaugural edition of ICC T20 World Cup (2007), Asia Cup (2010 & 2016), ICC ODI World Cup (2011) and Champions Trophy (2013). His calm demeanor even during high-pressure situations earned him nicknames like ‘Captain Cool’ while his unconventional decision-making approach often left others astonished but proved worthwhile most times.

Virat Kohli (2017-Present)

After Dhoni stepped down from captaincy in early 2017, the baton was passed to Virat Kohli who has since led India with both aggression and persistence. While he continues to set new batting records in international cricket, his leadership skills have also matured over the years earning him vast applause. Under Kohli’s guidance, the team experienced a series of Test victories including their first-ever test series win in Australia (2018-19). His aggressive instincts combined with astute cricketing brain make him one of the most successful Indian captains.

The Current Captain – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma became the captain of India’s limited-overs teams after Virat Kohli decided to step down from ODI captaincy after T20 World Cup 2021. The Mumbaikar is now leading India both in ODIs and T20 Internationals, while Kohli remains as Test captain. Known for his calm and composed demeanor on field, coupled with a sharp tactical acumen, Rohit Sharma had shown promise first as a stand-in skipper when he successfully captained the sides during Asia Cup 2018 and Nidahas Trophy the same year during absences of Virat Kohli.


In Indian cricket, being appointed as the national team’s captain is undoubtedly among its highest privileges but it comes with enormous pressure given cricket’s popularity in the country. Starting from Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi to Dhoni, Kohli, and now Rohit Sharma – each individual has moulded Indian cricket into what it stands today making records tumble and influencing many memorable moments along the way. Despite facing inevitable ups and downs during their journeys inevitably must face, everyone has managed to leave their unique marks in this coveted position and in the hearts of Indian cricket fans.

Rate article
Cricket Cup 2023 =>  Schedule | Teams | Venue | Live | Match Time | Players
Add a comment